From Where I Sat, Amerks Edition: Section 114, Row O, Seat 11


Tonight I found myself at my second Rochester Americans game of the week. Tonight’s contest was against the 2011 Calder Cup Champions, the Binghamton Senators. This was by far the best Amerks game that I have attended yet, despite it being the lowest scoring of the three. If you are not aware, the final score was Binghamton Senators (Ottawa Senators) 1, Rochester Americans (Buffalo Sabres) 3. I give you The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly.

The Good:

– Actually capitalizing on a power play! The Amerks went two for eight tonight on the power play. Although to be fair one of those was a five on three. Their power play is still near the bottom of the AHL, as is their penalty kill, however.

– Zack Kassian must like me. He has six points on four goals and two assists in the three games I have attended.

– The attendance. Tonight’s official attendance was 6,426, which is almost 3,000 moreĀ  than the previous two games I have attended. To be fair, however, the other two games I have attended were on Sundays after a Bills game, so that may have contributed to the lower attendance.

– Drew MacIntyre. Fantastic outing by him tonight, yet Ron Rolston will likely start David Leggio against the Griffins. The goalie-go-round has to stop at some point.

The Bad:

– Obligatory bullet item about fans leaving early.

– Obligatory bullet item complaining about people committing jersey fouls. Not even worth my time listing them any more.

– I am almost at the point where I will be one of those fans yelling “SHOOT!!!!!” on the power play. I know what they are trying to accomplish, but sometimes you really do just need to shoot. See what you are doing to me Amerks?!?

– No Jonathan Parker again tonight. #FreeParker

The Ugly:

– Tim Conboy of the B-Sens. He will likely see a few game suspension for his hit on former teammate (2010-11 Portland Pirates) Travis Turnbull. A dirty and reckless hit that more than deserved the match penalty he received.

Final Thoughts:

I thought that tonight was likely the best game of the three that I have attended, as most everything appeared to be clicking for the Amerks tonight, goaltending especially. The only thing that I would like to see is some improvement on the penalty killing. There were a few penalty kills where they spent the majority of the two minutes pinned in their own zone because they could not clear the puck. Regardless, I was certainly pleased their performance tonight, as well as the outcome of the game.

In Professor Rolston we trust.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

