From Where I Sat, Amerks Edition: Section 114, Row D, Seat 13


Tonight’s “From Where I Sat” is another Amerks post. I attended my second Rochester Americans game tonight, where the Amerks took on that punk Syracuse team. After Saturday’s abysmal loss in Syracuse by a final score of 2-5, I expected nothing less than a battle royale. While I did not get to see that, I was pleased with the outcome. Since you may not be aware, the final score was Syracuse Crunch (Anaheim Ducks) 5, Rochester Americans (Buffalo Sabres) 6 in OT. Without further ado, I give you The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly.

The Good:

– The Amerks won 56 seconds into OT on Brayden McNabb’s first professional goal. More on this later.

– Zack Kassian fed Paul Szczechura the puck to tie the game with 2:04 remaining in the 3rd period.

– Mark Voakes scoring shorthanded for his second goal of the night. I have never seen that happen in person and have it be a good thing. (Tsk-tsk Sabres.)

– I did not get my battle royale, but the Amerks did a decent job of integrating people into the boards tonight.

– I am not ashamed to admit that I like the jerseys that Crunch wore tonight.

– The energy in the Blue Cross Arena during the last 5 minutes or so of the game. The crowd really started to will the guys to win the game, or so I thought. I was especially pleased with the energy after they tied the game in the 3rd period.

The Bad:

– The goaltending. In a stark contrast to the last game I attended, in which Drew MacIntyre started, it did not look like anyone could stop anything tonight. So many goals scored on breakaways. David Leggio let in some softies, but others he was handcuffed on, e.g. the goal that tied the score at 4.

– The officiating. Missed/bad calls galore tonight. Simply dreadful.

– Obligatory bullet item about fans yelling “SHOOT!!!!!”.

– A laundry list of jersey fouls:

  • Obligatory guy wearing an Alexander Ovechkin jersey.
  • Guy wearing a Claude Giroux #28 Flyers jersey.
  • Guy wearing a terrible fake Ryan Miller #30 Sabres slug jersey.
  • Guy wearing Tyler Myers’ Sabres home jersey.
  • Guy wearing a Jhonas Enroth Sabres 2010-2012 3rd jersey.
  • Girl wearing a blank Florida Panthers jersey.
  • Guy wearing a Bruins jersey (spotted by my brother, not me).

– I’m not entirely convinced that Coach Ron Rolston’s policy of switching goalies each night is a good idea. How can a goalie get a hot glove if they cannot develop a rhythm? I am not a hockey expert, nor am I a goaltending expert, but I know enough to know that a goalie needs to get into a rhythm to perform well.Β  I think this might be the cause of Leggio’s struggles tonight.

– I wanted to see Jonathan Parker play. I can understand why he was likely a healthy scratch, but I still wanted to see him play. Please join me on Twitter by using the #FreeParker hashtag.

The Ugly:

– The Amerks’ PP. They need to work on that, and fast. It is not the worst in the AHL, but it is close. I will add their PK to this bullet as well, since they are close to the bottom on that as well. They killed off 4 of 6 tonight, but the second PP they did not kill off tonight put the Crunch within a goal of tying the game.

– The 2nd period. After the Crunch went up 5-4 the Amerks were outshot 11-1 over the last 9 minutes or so of the game. Not good.

– People leaving early, again. I hope whatever it was that the fans that left for with just 2:05 on the clock in the 3rd period was really important. Had they waited a few more seconds they would have seen the Amerks tie the game. You got what you deserved, and I got what I wanted! They missed seeing McNabb’s first professional goal to win the game in spectacular fashion. I have made my thoughts on fans leaving a game early clear on several occasions.

Final Thoughts:

I would like to see more of the energy that filled the BCA during the last 5 minutes or so of the 3rd period. It made the OT win so much better than it would have been otherwise. I think the last time I saw fans that excited about a win at home was on November 13th of 2010. (Yours truly can be seen at 0:23 of the video as the guy with the awesome beard wearing the Ryan Miller jersey.)

In Professor Rolston we trust.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

