I’m Back, What did I miss?


…wait. What? Seriously? The Sabres lost to the Senators? I thought the Senators blow… No? They don’t blow? They’re on an 11 game winning streak? Brain Elliot has won 9 straight and set a team record… Who let that happen?!

And Dion Phaneuf got traded to the Leafs from the Flames? Along with J.S. Giguere from the Ducks? No, you’re messing with me. Stop it. Seriously. Alright this needs to stop. There is no way that the Atlanta Thrashers would trade Ilya Kovalchuk to the New Jersey Devils along with Anssi Salmela in exchange for Johnny Oduya, Niclas Bergfors and Patrice Cormier (the controversial captain of the Team Canada Jr., ya know, the one that one the SILVER medal at the WJHC). There is no way all of that happened.

There’s more? Aren’t you done yet? So on top of all that, Olli Jokinen and Brandon Prust were traded from the Flames to the Rangers in exchange for Chris Higgins (Sir!) and some guy named Kotalik? Heh, that’s funny. Both Kotalik and Jokinen were dealt at last year’s deadline. Trade a guy who’s become pretty much a journeyman for a guy who always should have been one. That’s killing two birds with one stone! Wait, you’re still not done? Ken Hitchcock was fired from the Columbus Blue Jackets as head coach (4 months too late)? Wow. I did miss a lot.

All that and Ovechkin did this? With one hand?!

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit covering hockey…

So listen. I’m sorry I’ve been gone for so long. It’s been a tough week here at school. I’ve been dealing with trying to get back into my groove. What with my classes, my singing group and trying to have a good time there isn’t much room for hockey. God, it kills me to say that. It’s tough to follow the Sabres here at school but I’m going to do my best. I hate to admit it but I haven’t been able to watch a full game in nearly a week. That changes tonight. I’ll be traveling to Albany tomorrow for an a Capella invitational (don’t judge me) so I most likely won’t be going out tonight. That means that It will just be me and the Sabres (and hopefully some pizza). Awesome.

But seriously, the Sabres need to get back on track. I’m not too upset about a two game losing streak but the fact that we lost every game on the west coast aside from the game against Phoenix is very disheartening. We need to kick it into high gear for the next five games prior to the Olympic break. If the Sabres want to show everyone that they are legit, they need to play like it. Because if they play really strong and then don’t follow through, then what are they really? Well… They would be the Colorado Avalanche but that’s a different story.

I just hope that now that I’m back the Sabres will start to play well again. I miss those days. Ok, so “those days” were like last week. But still.

That’s all for now. I might hit you up with a game preview later (time permitting).

Until next time…

Go Sabres!

Tags: , ,

About AndrewTRW

Sabres blogger with a propensity for music and sarcasm. The Ruff Writers dot Wordpress

2 responses to “I’m Back, What did I miss?”

  1. Shelby Rose says :

    Crazy week of hockey it’s been. At least you’re caught up now though, right?
    Good luck with your a Capella group this weekend!

Leave a Reply

